The Daily Record

By havohej

The Accüsed The Return of Martha Splatterhead

The Accüsed 'The Return of Martha Splatterhead' (Earache/COR 1987)

Although Digby Pearson had released a flexi disc featuring Heresy a year prior to this album, this was the first to use the hallowed 'MOSH' catalogue number. Thus this was MOSH 1 and was a record which I sought for many years. Interestingly, it also has Gurt 17 as a catalogue number as this was a split release with COR Records from Bristol. COR may have had more of an input to the release as their logo is on the disc and their number on the spine. There's no sign of the soon to be legendary Earache logo.

Like many others, 'Scum' by Napalm Death, was my first introduction to Earache which was MOSH 3. Napalm built up a real profile in the metal press for being so ridiculously fast and they came to my attention because I was a metal head and not majorly into hardcore. Unfortunately, The Accüsed (gotta love the umlaut!) passed me by and it was only when I became more obsessed with completing my collection that this record became desirable, not to mention vastly overpriced.

The cover has £4.99 printed on it, which was quite common in the old 'pay no more than..' days, and is an ironic reminder for those who purchase it at inflated ebay prices. Luckily the Mighty Gorgoroth wanted to get rid of his records before his nuptials so I managed to get some fantastic deals from one metal head to another!

The inner sleeve has a very DIY version of the famous thrash collage with the band in various poses drinking and being low rent thrashers. It's telling that they thank Discharge and Destruction - this is total crossover. It reminds me a lot of Bad Brains and slightly of DRI. The production is pure punk rock, but you can hear rudimentary attempts at a more 'professional' metal sound. I think the punk/hardcore angle suits them better and can imagine having a heavy session trying to skate whilst listening to them.

I saw them a couple of years ago at the Supersonic festival and though they really went for it, I couldn't help but think we had missed our moment together. If I'd seen them in The Venue in 1989 I'm sure it would have been a blast, but we all seemed a little bit past it that October evening.

A cherished record which I tried to get for years and then thankfully got from somebody who was glad for me to have it. Best tracks - Take my Time, Martha's Revenge (Martha was their version of Iron Maiden's 'Eddie' - a recurring cover star). They also thank 'Alcohol, marijuana and Run DMC', sounds good.

Peace

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.