There Must Be Magic

By GirlWithACamera

The Kingdom of Dreams and Shadows

"And so I am become a knight of the Kingdom of Dreams and Shadows!" - Mark Twain

To think, I've been walking the Penn State campus for thirty years, and only now have I noticed the way the trees make shadows on the buildings in the morning light.

In this photo I was doubly fortunate, in capturing both the shadow of a tree as well as its reflection.

There is no actual tree in this photo. For all you know, this image might not be caused by a tree at all.

It could be some silly photographer with the sensibilities of a child, arranging shapes with her fingers against a flashlight: trees - and later, bunnies - on the wall.

But in this case, I suspect there might actually be a tree; but perhaps a tree from the world of Dreams and Shadows. And me, a knight of that kingdom, armed with a camera, galloping out into a strange land, capturing an image, wrapping it up carefully in a velvet bag, bringing it back as my treasure, placing it here for all to see.

I have wakened from many a dream, by the way, wishing for my camera to photograph the amazing things I've seen there; frustrated that I can't bring those images back with me. Am I the only one who wishes for a camera in my dreams?


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.