Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Magnolia Stellata

I know, another flower!
Sorry, this has been a very tough week (and it's not over yet - dang!) so I've had to snatch opportunities where I can.
I planted this magnolia in my front garden about 5 years ago and I just love it. The really magical thing at lunchtime (between no-time-for-food and a quick trip to the supermarket) is that the flower actually opened as I was photographing it. You can still see the furry calyx behind a couple of the petals. How cool is that! The sun was beautiful, several buds had burst but with the petals still furled, and I watched this one stretch and curl its petals back and turn its face to the sun.
Magic..
My daughter's cooking banana bread and the smell is wafting through the office door. Definitely time to clock off

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.