FIGGY's Sporadic Blips

By Figgy

Sorry but it's .....

.... another castle, this time Corgarff Castle at the head of Strathdon on the notorious road between Cockhill and Tomintoul.

To be perfectly honest it's not my favourite castle and I had other close up captures which were much sharper;. I had no intention of publishing it but when I downloaded todays captures (all 156) and saw it I felt I didn't have much option.

I was very taken with the surreal kind of quality of the pic, it looks a bit 'toytown' (reminds me of Trumpton) but it is published exactly as captured with an amazing two tone sky.

The castle was built around 1550 by the Clan Forbes and was typical of tower houses throughout the country of that time. The lofty tower is all that remains.

The arrival of the redcoats after the Battle of Culloden in 1746 resulted in the tower house being gutted internally and transformed into soldiers' barracks. For 95 years, the redcoats patrolled Strathdon, hunting down Jacobite sympathisers and latterly helping the excisemen stamp out the illegal production and smuggling of whisky.

I hope you like it too.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.