Lookabootye

By hcalibrarian

View from the bridge

Here is a view of the Union Canal basin from a bridge I cross every day on my way to work. The bridge is Leamington Lift Bridge and there have been a few times when the bridge is up in the air just when I'd like to cross it. There's a stairway at the side but I usually cycle around the basin to get to the other side. When not in a hurry ;o) it's very pleasant to watch the narrow boats making their way under the bridge to the basin or along the canal to Falkirk.

I'm making some bread this evening and while I was waiting for the dough to rise, I made some shortbread from Doves English Wholegrain Heritage flour. Apparently, this flour contains a wheat variety called "Bartholomew, popular in the sixteenth century and April Bearded, widely grown in the seventh century". So now I'm going to make a pot of tea and try these out.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.