Turning Point

By MamaFi

One of Those Days

Fizz blipped Ian leaving Cape Town last night, and here he is having just arrived in Dundee with his trademark dental floss in position and shoelaces untied.

This morning consisted of several stressful events -

1. Ian telephoned from Heathrow and announced that he was coming here straight from the airport. Only those in the know will understand how nerve racking this was.
2. GP wanted me to buy her things NOW!
2. I had to pay a visit to the garage after dropping off H and S at the school bus as Ian's car was making peculiar sounds and smells.
3. I returned home at 8.30am to find a designer, plumber and tiler. I was totally unprepared for work to commence - I thought it was to be Monday.
4. Some shower items that I had sourced for the plumber, and had been delivered, were the wrong size and needed to be re-ordered ASAP.
5. The heating broke down again.
6. I was expecting friends for supper and had wanted everything to be nice, which seemed unlikely.

Ian agreed that we go to St Andrews for some lunch at the Balgove Larder, and then to Kerachers to buy some halibut as a treat for supper. Over our lunch I spotted some people that we haven't seen for many years and it was interesting to exchange news.

Later, the L's came bearing gifts of wine, locally made salami, and some of their home grown salad -- all delicious. We had a really enjoyable and amusing evening. All's well that ends well.

Ian on his hair - 'It's the outer manifestation of inner turmoil.'

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.