SomeGuyInNJ

By SomeGuyInNJ

Manhattan on a Drizzly Night

Better large wish you could see it full size (10813 x 2403 pixels)

Okay so I thought I'd take my mother into New York again before she flys back to the UK on Sunday. So we went in today. Parked in Chinatown walked over through Soho to the Meat Packing district, walked the full length of the High Line from Gansevoort Street to 30th Street, Called B&H or 34th Street to look at some tripods etc, walked up to 40th street before walking back down to 34th to get the subway over to Brooklyn.

By the time we walked along the Highline, a raise railway track from the meat packing district that used to take the packed meat out of the city but has recently been converted to a 2 mile(ish) stretch of raised parks, it became obvious we werent going to make it back to the car before the traffic started getting bad, having been down to Brooklyn on Sunday it seemed like a good idea to get back down there again to get night shots this time. Mist and drizzle was descending so the tops of the buildings were starting to vanish.

There is a lot of stuff in this shot. This is an 11,000 wide pano stitch, so I am not sure if the reduction to blip will allow you to see all of this but from the right...

The lower of the two bridges is the Manhattan Bridge,
The bridge spanning 1/2 the shot is the Brooklyn Bridge
The larger of the glowing white buildings to the left of the Manhattan Bridge but below the Brooklyn Bridge is the Empire State Building
The smaller glowing builiding on top of the end of the Manhattan Bridge if the Chrysler Builing
The tall building virtually in the center of the image is the "New York by Gehry" apartment building.
The building with the white lights on top and red lights up its sides is the under construction 1 World Trade Center.
Further on to the end of island is the financial district under which can be seen Pier 17.
On the very left of the image a little spike sticking up out of the water is the statue of liberty.

A good day... many miles walked now I'm very tired I need to sleep :-)

I think my plan will to get this printed as large as I can possible spread across a triptych. Not just to sell on my website... I defintely want this one on my own wall too :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.