Ajnajna

By Ajnajna

Pupil's Speech

My pupils were asked to write a speech about any topic they like and present it to the class. Bellow is a speech written by a girl (11 years old);

Getting used to the UK

"I came to the UK in 2008 without knowing a word of English. I came with my family of 3 brothers, 2 sisters and my dad. Coming to the UK was an interesting experience because of the excitement I had of finally going somewhere new as well as safe.

Coming from a war zone country where I heard bombs exploding was not nice. I was scared to leave our house back in Somalia but finally, coming to a country where I don't have to look behind my shoulder, was an amazing feeling.

I thought getting used to the UK was going to be hard but luckily my friends at school helped me get through it by understanding me and helping me adapt to the new environment.

I would like to thank my friends and teachers at school. One thing I will always remember is to be proud of who you are and never to be ashamed. Thank you."

We have quite a few children who might have been traumatized at some point before moving to the UK.

I nearly dropped a tear listening to her.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.