LocalBoy & His Fotographs

By stevenbirrell

Heart Rules The Head

Like thousands of other people, I went into a bookmakers today and let my heart rule my head. Kauto Star, two time Gold Cup winner going for one last shot at glory before retirement. Injured a few weeks ago, rated doubtful up until last weekend. He went off 2nd favourite to reigning champion Long Run.

There would be no fairytale ending, 5 or 6 fences in, started to drop off the pace and jockey Ruby Walsh pulled him up to avoid risking injury.

As my blip today points out, I am a bit of a mug punter. Considered backing the eventual winner but clearly wanted this amazing horse to win more than I wanted to win the money!

Bookies stood to lose £100million if Kauto had wonToday they got back some of the money they have had to pay out over the years!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.