Safety first

This weekend is the last time for a while we will be allowed inside the cordon. It was quite strictly controlled and well handled. This is the first time in over 14 months I have been into the centre of my own city. It was heartbreaking to see the gaps, the ruins and to say to Dave "what was here? I don't remember" when you have lived somewhere all your life.

Next week the Christ Church Cathedral is coming down. There is controversy naturally - it is special to many people. It is certainly iconic and Christchurch has been called Cathedral City for as long as anyone can remember.

I hope they can salvaged the unbroken windows (see my folio for the fate of some), paneling etc and maybe these can be used in some other future construction.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.