Yeeuurrrgh! Can you guess what they are?

We have several pots of water around the back garden - the cat prefers to drink rainwater when he can. This summer, I've noticed lots of tadpole-like creatures in the various pots and I took this picture so I could identify them. Any idea? They're mosquito larvae. I'm going to empty those pots right now!!

I had a lovely afternoon with my great aunt. It was only the second time that I've met her, but she lives not too far away. I knew we were going to get along as soon as she offered me a gine and tonic as the first drink of the day! She fed me lunch and we chatted about lots of things. I knew next to nothing about her life and she knew nothing about mine. Now we know a few more things about each other. I'll go back sometime soon for another long chat. It was so interesting to find out about her life - in 1940, zig-zagging in a boat across to India to avoid U-boats; spending 3 weeks journeying back to Britain on a crowded troop boat, where men (including her husband) were on one side of the boat, while she and the baby were on the other side. She said that was hell - ooh, the smell and the noise!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.