A Wave On The Ocean

By Bensholto

cristo redentor

In 2002, I was lucky enough to spend three weeks in Rio de Janeiro as my brother was working in Brazil for a year. (He ended up staying for about two years. Can't imagine why.....)

The only cameras I had were a few cheap disposable 35mm film cameras in my luggage.

What I had thought would be my favourite photo, a photo at dusk outside the Maracana stadium as Vasco de Gama were about to play a Rio derby against Fluminense, didn't develop at all due to the poor light.

This one took me by surprise - I only took two photos of the statue on the day I made my way up Corcovado in the heat, and this was a spur of the moment shot. The first I took showed the statue surrounded by tourists and visitors, but I wanted something that was just about the statue.

I knelt at the base and this is the result.

This is my favourite photo from that holiday. No fancy editing, no cropping, no straightening, just a photo taken on an old 35mm film camera.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.