Chiara

By Chiara

Swordfish salad

Today, I...

Looked at 6 apartments.
Met one of the most energetic men I've ever seen.
Ate mediocre fries at Wendy's.
Ate much better fries at a bar.
Visited the Art Museum with Laura & Dustin. I didn't find my favorite painting!

I realized something today. I don't like contemporary art. I don't consider it real art. However, Dustin had a good question ... what is real art?

To me, real art is when the artist puts so much thought and energy into their work. Show me a blank canvas with a single black line painted across it or Vincent Van Gough's "Fishing in Spring" and I'd choose the latter in a heartbeat. Back then, it took real talent to be an artist. Now, just about any pretentious tool with zero artistic abilities could be one. All they have to do is splash some paint on canvas and make up some philosophical or political statement in order to make their work "meaningful" and "inspiring".

However, there are exceptions. I recall seeing an American flag spread across the ground 4 or 5 years ago at an art gallery (I believe at my school, but don't take my word for it) and a podium with a microphone standing right on the middle of it. A placard nearby read (and I'm paraphrasing): "Freedom of speech is yours, but first you'll have to walk on the American flag in order to get it." I didn't consider it art, but I thought it was such a powerful political statement.

However, whatever happened to attention to detail, putting TLC into every brush stroke, and the desire to create a beautiful picture that makes the statement on its own (rather than relying on a placard)? Sigh.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.