An Irish Guy Abroad

By EBGB

A wet Saint Patricks day

My wife has gone out on a kind of school reunion.

Ireland are losing badly to England so what does this expatriate Irish man do, he does what any other self respecting Irishman would do. He drinks loads of espresso and gets on with cooking. He makes pastry for his mother in-laws mothers day cheese and onion pie. While making himself some Kare Poaka a polynesian pork, sweet potato and coconut curry. Ok the recipe here isn't a curry but the one in my mothers cook book is. But that is somewhere on the west coast of Ireland and inaccessible to me at the moment.

I think if my mother had her way we would never have eaten this more than once but it was a major family favourite and she would graciously make it at least once a year. It was the kind of meal the we all mucked into make. There was coconut cream and milk to be made from dessicated coconut (all we could get in Galway in the 70's) and a hot chilli sauce. I won't be making a chilli sauce I don't think my gastric reflux would thank me but a hot curry I will eat. Anyway thanks mum for making life fun and full of interesting food and happy mothers day.


Who's hungry.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.