Scrawny Old Man

By richtoller

Nicole in Perth

My bike Nicole on Queen's Bridge in Perth, looking downstream to the railway bridge and two people approaching in little boat things - sculls I think they'd be called, but definitely not skulls.
Nicole and I had a great day out in Mrs RT's absence: Dundee-Errol-Perth along the north side of the Tay. Against the wind but we enjoyed it anyway.
Approaching Errol a little red car annoyed us by beeping when it was right behind (on a straight and wide enough road) then passing without pulling out at all. Just after that another cyclist caught me up and asked 'Did you get his number? He threw a bottle at me.' We rode together for a bit then he disappeared into the distance.
From Perth it was Bridge of Earn-Abernethy where I ate my roll sitting on the war memorial steps looking at (and photographing) the round tower. Some kids asked me 'Are you a racer?'
'No I just enjoy cycling.'
'And taking photos.
'Yes those are two of the things I like best.'
'Do you live in Abernethy?'
'No I live in Dundee.'
'That's a long way. I didn't know you could cycle that far.'
'You can if you practise.'
Then Newburgh (lunch part 2, scone and jam and cup of tea in a cafe), and the next few miles seemed to be all uphill and quite hard going - but rewarded with some good downhills before Wormit-Newport-Tay Road Bridge and up through Dundee, home in 59.6 miles.
But then we went to Morrisons to buy pizza and that made it 62.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.