It's a baldy bald life!

By DrK

A cycling day....but not for me!

I was working today, assessing a group of our trainee coaches. The weather was a wee bit iffy to start off with, which is never good when you're relying on the goodwill of a bunch of riders turning up for the session.

It soon brightened up though and we had an excellent team today, so everything went smoothly. Cycling doesn't have a real tradition of coaching, albeit in the UK. Most riders over the age of about 22 years old have never been coached but really benefit even after a short session or two. Today was no different and I think everyone went away learning something.

I had the easy job of assessing coaches but they had the hard job of delivering the sessions. It's not easy for them...kinda like doing a driving test, but most went away happy. I'm tired but I enjoyed the day.

I'm now sitting in a Premier Inn in Reading as Hunter Allen has come over from the USA to do a talk tomorrow on training with a power meter. I'm quite looking forward to hearing his perspective and hope I can learn a thing or two that I can apply. Hope I get the chance to get a few photo's of him and the new Garmin Metrigear pedal system too!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.