Skyroad

By Skyroad

After The Pattern

My wife had her birthday party yesterday, at her parent's place near Gorey in Co Wexford. We had a lovely evening with friends, family and children, and the weather held off, grey but dry. This morning I was told that Gorey would be crowded with cars because of 'The Pattern', a mass held once a year in the local cemetery. So I went to check it out. I was too late for the mass itself, but the cemetery was still full of people, many of whom had traveled great distances.

Few people dressed somberly. There were plenty of tracksuits and mini-skirts. Many of the younger women dressed as if on their way to a nightclub. It seemed to me that there was sense of celebration as much as sadness. I could have taken many more pictures; the place was full of those beautiful contrasts between statuary and ebullient humanity.

Here's ANOTHER ONE.

I was thinking of making THIS IMAGE or THIS ONE the main blip.

What do you think?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.