Happy Birthday Harbour Bridge

Had a good day today and was spoilt for choice.

Went to the harbour bridge's 80th birthday party, which was held in Bradfield Park, under the bridge.
They closed it for the 60th and 75th birthdays, but Sydney's traffic is so horrendous that it won't be closed again until the centenary.

It is just the sort of event I love to cover; lots of people, all happy to have a camera shoved in their face.  A rare event most of the time.

Some of you know I have a bit of a passion for the bridge, and a large collection of bridge memorabilia. Today I met Bradfield's grandchildren, and came away with signed souvenirs, so I was a happy girl.

I'm not going to spend any more time pondering which photo to choose, I figure you can't go past a beautiful young woman, and they were thick on the ground, modelling dresses from the era.

There was a brief moment where I considered covering the St Patrick's Day Parade, which is huge, but the bridge won out. You'll probably be surprised to hear, Colin, that there was a lot of green around. Many Australians have Irish heritage and there were probably more than a few sentimental hangers on, as well:)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.