Sandcastle Holidays

By Sandcastle

Light streams through Waverley Station, Edinburgh

The renovations at Waverley Station continue, but this afternoon, when taking a shortcut through the station en route to Craigwell Cottage, I caught a glimpse of the new roof as the sun was out and streaming through the new glass.

It's looking rather splendid, and hopefully when it's all finished we'll have a world class welcome for weary travellers arriving by rail. [If - and this is purely a personal opinion - we substitute something vaguely Scottish for the Cornish Pasty stall - where is our world class food offering in Waverley Station?]

All was not sweetness and light however when the guests I'd been waiting for did not turn up. Last time I take a last-minute telephone booking on trust - you have been warned! I was a very grumpy self-catering operator by the time I got home. Only the kindness of my dear other half coming to my rescue saved the evening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.