--pohutukawa--

By pohutukawa

Blip for Blip

My first play with light :)
I've also been experimenting with water and slowly getting the hang of having the water look silky.
If it's a nice day tomorrow, I might head down to the stream and see if I can get some nice shots.
So far I've only had the beach to work on, and waves just don't look quite right when they're silky :P


Since people have been asking how, here's how I wrote in the dark :)
(Thanks goes out to matt989 for telling me how, and to biddybid for explaining what Tv settings are!)

Set camera to ISO100, shutter speed 10 seconds, and steady on a tripod.
Set the self timer so that you can ready yourself in front of camera, with a small torch or something similar (I used one of those little LED keyring lights).
Turn off the lights and shut the blinds (darkness is your friend here).
When the self timer ends and the shutter opens, start using your light source to write with (or make pictures). Just remember, you'll need to write each letter backwards.

It does take a few goes, in quite a few of my attempts the letters were all mashed together :P


*Mods: Not a black border, the photo was taken in pitch black

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.