Hon in Edinburgh

By honined

Carolyn

I took my wife to the Scottish National Gallery of Modern Art for her Mother's Day treat: our respective mothers seemingly already had better offers. We had about an hour's peace to ourselves while our little boy was catching up on his zzz's and our daughter was at a friend's birthday party. Not enough time to see anything in the museum, but still nice to bask outside in the sun, enjoying cakes and coffee.

I did take a few pictures of the two Pratt & Whitney TF33 (aka JT3D) turbofan engines, which seemed to have made their way from Londong onto the Landform grass sculpture outside. At the time, I speculated to my wife that they looked like 707-era engines, maybe Rolls Royce Conways, so not too far off. Disappointingly, nobody was allowed onto the grass to get a closer look, and the sun refused to come out, so those pictures kinda sucked... So I now want to take the family back (so far without screaming & kicking) for a day at the Museum of Flight at East Fortune. Carolyn did ask what I wanted to do for Father's day :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.