Rising to the bait...

I've been thoroughly spoilt today. Pete brought me breakfast in bed - no chance of the boys doing it when they didn't get to bed till 5am (the two eldest were out celebrating St. Patrick's Day). I then read a few chapters of my book before having a long and lazy bath.

I had intended to take the dogs out in the morning, but it was grey and wet, so I pottered indoors instead. The boys got up mid-morning and helped Pete prepare the evening meal, before we went off to spend the afternoon with Pete's Mum.

It was pouring as we left, and Gemma was very reluctant to get in the car, thinking we might be taking her on a rainy walk, which she hates with a vengeance. She cheered up a lot when we arrived, as Pete's Mum always feeds her with cake - not good for her figure but it makes both of them so happy!!!

When we returned I took them for a brisk walk at Ferry Meadows to try and work off a few of the calories. As I went over the river I noticed that the fish were rising and feeding for the first time this year, probably in response to a hatch of non-biting midges. I had been hoping for a sunset, but grey cloud rather ruined things, and there was just a subtle pink afterglow, which I very nearly blipped.

When I arrived home the meal was just about ready. A spicy prawn and fruit salad was followed by slow cooked duck in a marmalade and star anise sauce. The pudding was very unusual - black rice pudding with mango sorbet and chilled coconut milk. It was all totally delicious and I'm now stuffed!!

Alex is going off to the New Forest tomorrow for a four day study trip, so I'd better go and check whether he's remembered to pack everything. May be back later - if not, I'll catch up with you all tomorrow.






Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.