The Lighted Life

By Giacomo

Golden Moments

Today was another scorcher temperature wise. Like yestarday, it was above 80F and 27C....I can only hope that it is this nice when July arrives. Again, I was locked in doors for most of the day but not entirely for business. I spent most odf the day at a National Geographic photography lecture at the Minneapolis Public Library given by the Pulitzer prize winning and critically acclaimed adventure photographer Ralph Lee Hopkins. These gentlemen are Lord Gods when it comes to travel photography. The 6+ hour presentation included a bit of basic and high level "how to" elements. Yet, most of the frequent and episodic WOW experiences came from them presenting their work on a very large screen in front of the group. I am speaking of multiple "Oh My God" moments, followed by "How the hell did they do that" thoughts. It was paradise even though I was indoors on a blissful day.

After the session, I walked down to the Hennepin Avenue Bridge which spans the eastern and western banks of the Mississippi River. The span was first connected in the 1800s but the bridge has been replaced three times. The current bridge was built only about 20 years ago. It plays heavily on the Gothic theme of its predecessors but was updated with a heavy influence of art deco in respect to the buildings around it. The limestone veneered structure has a deep mustard hue even in mid-day light. But catch it as I did in the pre-dusk golden light prior to sunset and it becomes a very special sight. I threw an ND filter on the camera and watched the runners strut their stuff.

Truly a golden day from sunrise to sunset.

Thanks for the spotlight on my Oh Shit moment yesterday. I have been away from the computer today so I am behind with respect to viewing your wonderful images. Perhaps tomorrow will allow me to catch up.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.