Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

When you go down to the woods today ...

You see bee drops.

I had a blip today but decided to have a quick look in the garden when I got home to see if anything took my fancy. I thought there might be some drops because we have had grey skies and rain for the most of the day. I heard some buzzing and when I looked up, I saw about five or six of my nemesis of bees, the Teddy Bear Bee (Amegilla bombiformis) hanging onto a twig of the Crepe Myrtle. You can see the rain drop hanging off each of them.

They are my nemesis because I think they are gorgeous bees, bigger than the regular honey bee and they have this fuzzy brown fur, just like a Teddy Bear. I have been trying to get one in flight for ages but they buzz around ricocheting like bullets from flower to flower and I have never been satisfied. This will have to do for a while.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.