It's a baldy bald life!

By DrK

Happy 100 to Me!!!

Number 100 and I manage to get Sir Chris! It was a difficult choice of what photo to use as I took some awesome and technically better ones. I got in a wee bit trouble too as I somehow was tripping the timings with my flash..... Ian and Jan the coaches were "reasonably cool" about it but I got the impression they were pissed off.

Shane had invited all the staff to watch an important training session in preparation for the Olympics. I suspect it wasn't out the kindness of his heart but more to create distractions, to create a more realistic competitive environment. Still, it was nice to get away from the desk.

I've known Chris since about 1991 when we were on a training camp together in Majorca. He and Craig McLean were abused for being lazy bastards....they were always found by the pool whilst we were doing 150km a day in the mountains. They never came out to the pub in the evening either. If memory serves me correctly, they won their first British Champs that year and I was riding local 10's very slowly!

I did a publicity thing before the last Olympics..... a "compare your power" to Chris day. I hit 989W whilst he did 2200W without trying too hard! Afterwards we had a bacon roll (I wasn't a veggie then) and a coffee together, and chatted about various bits n bobs. A few weeks later he won 3 Olympic golds and was knighted shortly afterwards. I attribute his success to the advice I gave him that day.

I'll upload some photos of today later for you to see!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.