Plus ça change...

By SooB

My wild things

This is where my wild things live. Bit of a last minute entrant for the assignment, but I couldn't resist when I saw them all dressed up.

Busy day out and about today, with lots of errands followed by a real treat - half an hour in a book shop choosing some treats. This was my old ritual when I was working: every month when that payslip arrived on my desk, I would head out in my lunch hour and buy half a dozen books. Luxury.

Today my (less frequent nowadays) treat was followed by a lovely evening together en famille (with Mr B working from home today instead of his usual routine of getting home from the site at 10.30 pm). Highlight of the evening (yes, you don't need to tell me, I know I am very sad) was the Hairy Bikers show. Apologies to those outside the UK - not because it's rude of me to talk about something you don't know about, but because everyone should get to see these guys: two big hairy northern blokes on big motorbikes who do baking. How did they sell that to the BBC?

Tonight was a classic, with such lines as a Cornish Pasty being described as "a symphony in a blanket" and a comment when butter was used to make pastry: "don't use marg, because it's crap".

You have to love it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.