CarolineJay

By CarolineJay

ONCE UPON A TIME....

....I danced with a Prince.

I read last night that the King of Tonga has died, and I remembered that I danced with him once when I was 16 or 17 and he was the Crown Prince. I used to know a chap who was a cadet at Sandhurst whose parents persuaded him, against his will, to take me or my friend J, alternately to dances there on the basis that our fathers were RAF officers and we'd know how to behave. (How sadly wrong they were.) Anyway, that's where I met Prince George and danced with him, and remember him being a perfect gentleman. The online information I found about him says that he liked military uniforms and being driven around in a London taxi, so part of this blip is from a photo of my Dad in his ceremonials (we used to call them his dress-ups in our disrespectful daughterly way). I couldn't manage a taxi in there as well.

Inspired by G.S.O.H. this is a 'Not Many People Know That' blip.

17

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.