Mandy's photo journal

By MandyO

Room 101 - Item # 1

The electronic hand dryer.

Needing a little inspiration I have decided that I will post my Room 101 items over the next 5 - 7 days (depending on how irritated I get, this may go on for some time).

The first shown here is my biggest pet peeve. The electronic hand dryer.
When I walk into the toilets (wherever I may be), my heart sinks when I see that a hand dryer is the only option I have for fruitlessly waving my hands in the air drying my hands.

The manufacturers will tell you that they are much more economical and have a smaller carbon footprint - well they would wouldn't they. But in fact more unbiased evidence suggests that paper towels can be more effective, both in cost and in properly drying your hands. How many times do we become impatient with the hand dryer and leave before our hands are properly dry, or, a growing trend I've noticed, using toilet paper (not only likely to spread infection - but also defeating the object of the exercise).

The newer versions where you put your hands down into them and draw them out slowly, are even more vile! Not only do they highlight the aging of your hands by showing up how baggy your skin is, but have you ever looked into the bottom of one of those things? Yeuch!

Lets banish the electronic hand dryer to Room 101, and bring back paper towels.

On another note - this was taken in the Tally Ho pub in Everley where I met two very nice friends for a lovely lunch.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.