Raspberryberet

By AprilJane

Farewell Prince Charming

Chris broke my Adam and the Ants mug this morning.

I cannot resist buying mugs (among many other things) from Charity Shops, and have rather a lot, most of which are commemorating royal occasions, the more rubbish the better. In fact I have one which celebrates the Coronation of King George VI in 1937, and it's my least favourite as it's rather beautiful. I have several Charles and Di ones (Charles always has an awful supercillious look on his face, which in retrospect seems to say it all), a hideous Princess Ann and Captain Mark Phillips one, and a couple from the Queens Silver Jubilee. I long for a Fergie and Prince Andrew one, but have never seen one.

However, my absolute favourite was this Adam and the Ants one from his Prince Charming phase in about 1981. I was 13 and I have very happy memories around that music and that time, and this mug was so badly designed and made I absolutely loved it. Look at the print on it - his lipstick isn't even over his lips. He looks more Robert Smith than Dandy Highwayman.

I saw Adam Ant on a TV show recently and he looked pretty great - better than in 1981 I thought. Not better than in 1979, but better than 1981!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.