Sue Foll's picture of the day

By POD2008

The view from here

The last time I met my friend Andrew for lunch in the City, he took me up to the top of One New Change. It is a shopping centre by St Paul's. I made a mental note that the next time I came to see him it would be in the morning and I'd stop off beforehand to take pictures while the sun is in the east.

The black spire in the foreground belongs to St Paul's Choir School which was built by Sir Christopher Wren at the same time as the Cathedral.

In the bar background you see the London Eye and the tower which houses Big Ben, just peeping though.

In front of the Eye is the iconic art deco Oxo Tower, designed at a time when (I believe) it was forbidden to advertise. It is now occupied by Harvey Nichols.

The highest tower on the left is the Shell Building. Sea Containers House used to contain a lot of magazine publishers (I never worked there) and that's about t for landmarks. Apart from the tall building on the right of the Eye which I think house the ITV studios.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.