The handbags and the glad-rags

In the corner of my bedroom I have a stack of vintage suitcases.

They contain handbags and glad-rags

The bottom one contains my beautiful vintage evening wear and cocktail dresses.

The next is compartmentalised for shoes - All those pairs with high heels that I now struggle to wear for more than an hour or two without crippling myself, but still cherish.

Above that, packed away in a Chinese case made of split bamboo is everything ready for a ski holiday.

The fourth case is full of accessories and bags.

Placed on top of the cases are my four favourite handbags.

At the back a 1940's crocodile skin bag with the original little suede backed mirror and matching purse inside.

To the right a 1950's Perspex bag with strips of woven gold plastic.

The white one at the front, I bought when staying on Long Island, USA. It is handmade and on the inside of the lid it has a little collage of shells and a poem hand written in gold pen.

Finally the silver-grey one was a gift from a very dear girlfriend, many years ago, because she knows I love bags.

I use each of them, frequently.

I chose this track of Handbags and Glad rags with Rod Stewart with the Stereophonics, because it reminds me of me - Vintage - and a twist of modern.

My camera has had to go to hospital, so will be using my phone camera for a while.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.