Dick's Pics

By RichardDonkin

Old Westie

Dougie, our West Highland Terrier, has been short of breath quite a lot of the time lately. I suspect he hasn't got that long to live. But then I thought that two years ago and he's still with us.

I wasn't going to take him for a walk today as he looked pretty lifeless on his bean bag. But he perked up and did pretty well in the end. He's scruffy and in need of a haircut, his back is bowed and his eyesight has faded. But he still has an appetite and he can perk his ears up on a walk.

I suppose I was thinking "last picture" when I took this image today but who knows? He's almost 13 so time is against him but he's benefitted a lot from the Jack Russell pup, Pippa, who will be 12 months old in a few days. This is how he looked in his prime about nine years ago.

I had an email today with news of my great-great-grandfather and the story of his demise that was all new to me. As this blog relates, he wasn't the first among my line to come to a sorry end.

The only other things to record today are the appearance of the heron at the pond (the first this year and I think it had a fish) and the appearance of my in-laws on a short visit - a possible blip for tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.