Plus ça change...

By SooB

Separated

I recently started using a new handbag, well an old handbag but one I've gone back to after years of not using it. After six years of not using it - I'm guessing - given that this is Conor's first right shoe. His first left shoe is on top of my jewellry box in Fife. Why his shoe was in my handbag I can't even guess. Probably for the same reason that yesterday, pulling on my ski jacket for the first time since last year's skiing trip I found one of Katherine's socks and a pair of her pants (clean and neatly folded - which is almost more bizarre) in the pocket.

So today was mostly DIY - painting and mixing plaster for me, applying plaster for Mr B. The most annoying job is applying the watered down paint to newly plastered surfaces - especially ceilings as there is no way to avoid a paint shower. But all that is done now and, finally, the guest room is looking like it might be finished this year. There was also a trip to a DIY store (no day is complete without at least one such trip) to sort out a solution to boxing in lots of pipes in that room and - this is worthy of note - I came up with a solution which Mr B thought might be the best option. Usually my DIY ideas are rubbish; perhaps I should have blipped the surprise on Mr B's face.

Today also has to be recorded as the day Conor finally learned a poem in French and read it out faultlessly (so he told me) to his teacher. His first 'green mark' for poetry.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.