A seasider's view

By cabrogan

Challenge day 20: Before/after

This topic stumped me a bit, and my response may not be the most obvious, so bear with me....

The top book on the pile represents "before", as it's my current reading squeeze, started just yesterday. It's a much anticipated read, a well-chosen birthday present, and as yet, in mint condition. As an unusual precaution to wear and tear on the daily commute, I've given it a dedicated plastic bag.

The bottom book represents "after", being the condition Kavalier and Clay will - inevitably, and despite the the plastic bag - end up in.

I started reading Great Expectations at New Year, and finally finished it on Saturday night.

After several weeks months (I keep falling asleep on the train) of gadding about in my commuting bag, I defy anything to look anything other than highly stressed.

And I'm not a deliberate spine-breaker of books, but I'm not one for peeking in to a page for fear of damaging the book.

On that note, I'm off to do battle against the olefactory assault of my cats' litter trays. I may be some time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.