Canary chronicles

By Shirleemoss

A night at the ballet and what happened after

Back at work again today, and celebrated some potential progress with a show at Sadlers Wells in the evening. Contemporary dance by a brilliant but rather wanky choreographer who has a chair in the neuroscience department at Cambridge University - no that is not a joke. The ballet was fab though, despite misguided attempts to give it totally unnecessary academic credibility.
The journey home became disturbing though. I got a cab with Addison Lee and should have been suspicious as soon as the driver struck up a conversation. Addison cabbies are trained not to chat but this guy was one of those irritatingly friendly Aussies - at least that was what I thought till I realised he was actually a mad - and I mean wacko - conspiracy theorists.
He truly believes the prime minister of Australia (you mean that nice little welsh lady? I asked) is a commie dedicated to destroying Australia and has signed something called gender 21 which has decided to eliminate 90per cent of the Ozzie population. This is part of a new world order and tho they haven't decided how to kill them (gas, poison water, or starvation) they've built 20 concentration camps to get started. As I laughed and said I didn't believe him he produced his phone and tried to prove it to me by googling u tube and some sites which he read out while driving (!!!!). I pointed out he didn't have to believe everything he read but to no avail.
Loony toony.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.