Mount Hamilton Classic Image

Okay, so I know that most of the time we're asked if we can scan in an old photo and get rid of the stains and cracks, but here's an example using Smart Objects and some "texture" images (the one from yesterday), and creating a uniquely old looking image from one I shot today.

Yes, it has snowed in the hills of San Jose towards the end of March!

This image wasn't that bad shot as it was, but I wanted to use it as a vehicle to layer with smart objects that had texture and create a antique look. I could tell someone I shot this with a film camera back in the 60's. If you didn't know the number of houses on the hill (and I shot it towards an area that hasn't changed much over the years - thanks to urban growth limitations and conservation). I think it's pretty cool and it didn't take me long to do it. I did provide a little Topaz Adjust treatment with some artificial vignetting for effect.

I highly recommend attending one of the Photoshop "power" workshops that Kelby Training puts on. They are inexpensive, typically 8 hours and give you a wealth of imaginative things to try.

Enjoy!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.