The Perkins Family

By Limpet28

Getting back in the saddle

Well, actually it's getting back into playing the flute, which is one of the things on my 'forty before 40' list. In a happy coincidence, the orchestra I played with at school are celebrating their 50th Anniversary this year and are planning a reunion concert with former members. I have signed up for it and so need to improve before then or I may be thrown out! In the drop down menu on the sign up form I had to choose my playing standard from professional, semi-professional, good amateur, rusty, audience. I opted for rusty but hope to be up to good amateur again by September.

This sticker was stuck on my Yamaha flute case the day I got it in 1985 and there it has remained. I used to run my fingers down the ridges of the case through the sticker to make grooves, like running your finger down the middle of a KitKat wrapper. Now it's just a question of opening the case up and taking the plunge.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.