Ways Of Seeing

By dollyfish

Candy Con

When I first heard of the company "The Candy Brothers" who sell retro sweets online, I imagined them to be jolly fellows, rosy cheeked, wearing stripy aprons and boater hats. However, after my recent dealings with "The Candy Con Brothers", I now think they look like that child catcher bloke in Chitty Chitty Bang Bang.

I bought a voucher from a company called Wowcher, who promised me £34.99 worth of sweets ('nearly 1kg') for the bargain price of £16.50. I was buying them as a get well gift for a friend.

What I actually got was 560g of sweets worth £14. Either no-one at Candy Bros or Wowcher (or should that be Gotcha!) can count, or they think no-one else can.

My initial complaint, and request to return all sweets for a full refund, were met with denial and general "it wasn't me" mentality. The Candy Conning feckers said I couldn't return the sweets because they were perishable items (wrong!). Anyway have you ever seen a cola cube perish??! I reckon if there was an nuclear bomb explosion the only things left would be cola cubes. And cockroaches, apperently.

Here are a few things I dislike:

Being ripped off
Having £16.50 less in my purse
Having to count and weigh out sweets to prove I am right
Being treated like an idiot

I reported them to the ASA, and anyway....I did get a full refund. And I got to keep the sweets too. However, the get well person, by now, had got very well and I wasn't sure when I'd see them again. So I thought I'd save them for my sons birthday coming up in a couple of week.

However, something weird happened last night. I came over all funny, I may have even blacked out (vague recollection of being brain zapped by aliens I think) and out of NO willing of my own, I started scoffing the sweets.

I'm supposed to be on a diet sort of.

I even didn't brush my teeth before going to bed because it would take the lovely taste away. I know. I am a slut of the highest order.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.