Ikimasho!

By Hayls

Book Bonanza

I have a wonderful friend who works for Harper Collins and every now and then she'll text me and say 'Do you want a ticket for the book sale today?' To which I reply 'Woohoo! I love you! Are you kidding? YES, YES, YES!'

The book sale involves meeting my pal at the publisher's premises in Bishopbriggs and being given the golden book sale ticket. After proclamations of undying friendship I then join the queue, wait for the hallowed doors to open and join the throng in the tiny, hot, cramped Harper Collins staff bookshop.

The reason book sale tickets are like gold dust is that all the books are ridiculously, and I mean ridiculously, cheap. The kids' books are about 50p each, hardbacks anywhere between £1 and £3. The maximum spend allowed in the shop is £60 and I fell just 20p short of the max yesterday.

The blip shows my spoils. Lovely aren't they.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.