MaybeDaily

By MaybeDailyBob

Wood for the trees

This is taken just outside of Basingstoke. I tried a different way home, only because I know there isn't anywhere to stop on the M4/A34 route home to take a photograph.
As I drove down the road I noticed the lines of the evergreen trees with the beech and birch growing around them. The photo actually came out better than expected, that was a pleasant surprise as more often the reverse is true.
The expression "if you can't see the wood for the trees" obviously means you can't see the whole situation clearly because you're looking too closely at small details, or because you're too closely involved. It quite often sums up corporate life but obviously not where I work (just in case they really are watching me - no I am not doing this during work hours); who am I kidding we are as bad as everyone else.
I used the budget calculator on the BBC website and if I give up drinking and don't drive I will end up better off. Unfortunately the only other way to get to work is by train and that will cost more than I save. So whatever happens I am worse off (no surprise there) so I might as well keep drinking. Cheers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.