MobileMe

By JohnFDP

London's lung

I was standing on Kew Gardens station this morning and noticed some palms in very large pots. 'Very apt', I thought given the stations proximity to the Botanical Gardens. I then saw the beautiful blossom on the tree behind the opposite platform and I just had to get my camera out.
The Botanical Gardens at Kew is sometimes called Londons Lung because it's such a clean, green space in which to breath fresh air in the middle of a vast urban area. Before heading to the station this morning I walked along the river bank right next to the gardens and saw some fantastic bird life - herons nesting, large waterbirds standing high up in trees and swans to name a few. In the distance were large tower blocks reminding me I was not far from real urban living.

It really is a lovely corner of London and well worth a visit.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.