surprise feature

I popped past the bike on the way out for a walk at lunchtime with the intention of re-wrapping the right-hand end of the bar so that the shifter wire beneath the tape was in a slightly less obtruding position. I noticed that there was a small cut-out semicircle in the top edge of the brake lever housing, just about the right size for a shifter cable to be fitted underneath, were it to leave the shifter in the middle of the underneath of the bar. Didn't notice that when I first installed them. Had the shifter cable emerging at the top and being dragged to the side as sharp as possible, I did. Of course, now that I've rotated the shifter 180° I've noticed how used to it I've become, even though pulling the lever towards me to shift up seemed unnatural the first time I tried it. I'll leave it there for a bit and hope I grow used to it the other way round. It makes no difference to the left hand as I'm rarely off the middle ring but I'll rotate it too to keep the grip nice and comfy. At this rate I might be able to consider the bar setup finalised and install new bar tape by the end of the month.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.