wingpig

By wingpig

anchors

A five-minute walk at lunchtime. Two litres of water. One litre of coffee. Two apples, a bagel and some muffins. Three bits of chewing gum. 10½ hours of solid thinking. Hooray for high-speed walks home through wind, rain and people during which the stresses fall away. I feel sorry for people who have to drive to and from work who have no idea how much more relaxing it is to walk. Of course, I stop feeling sorry for them the instant one of them parks in an advanced stop line or sneaks through a red light but today I had to ignore them and keep walking in order to not lose the mood.

No links today as almost every picture I took (all in the dark this evening seeing as I didn't get to spend a sunny hour briskly walking beside the river) was a variation on the theme above. I had planned a different Keep Left Sign picture but this one caught my eye for its nice battered but resolute look. The road was nice and quiet too which is handy when you're crouching in the middle of it. For some reason I was in quite a don't-care-if-I-look-silly mood which was handy a few minutes later when I knelt down between two parked cars to get a few tripod-assisted shots of another Keep Left cluster only to notice upon standing that there were two blokes in the car behind me. Lucky they didn't think to try anything funny like sounding the horn or suddenly switching on the lights and starting the engine.

A few worrying moments this evening when the computer suddenly cut out or rebooted for no apparent reason. It turned out that in its new position on its side on top of the filing cabinet that the fridge door was hitting the reset button when opened.

In six hours it all starts again but hopefully with a longer lunchbreak. At least being horribly busy makes the working day much shorter compared to that few hours afterwards at home and out and about. I wonder how much fervently wishing for the working day to end and hoping that the evening lasts as long as possible has on one's experience of time passing? I seem to have quite an accurate internal time-guessing module but I expect the brain's internal time-sense could be manipulated with a suitable experiment. Perhaps something along the lines of locking people in rooms with no clocks and giving them either a boring or interesting series of tasks to complete and seeing afterwards how long each test group thought the experiment had lasted...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.