A Days Click

By nshrivastava87

Fortress of Bhongir - Conquered :)

Around 30 kms from my place....towards the city of Warangal, lies the small town of Bhongir.

According to www.mustseeindia.com , "Tourists from everywhere flock to Bhongir mainly to visit the famous Bhongir fort" however, when i went to the entry booth, for the ticket, the person sitting there said, "You wanna go to the top?", I said, "yes". The reply was, "No one goes there sir, why do you want to go". I said, "I am going, you give me the ticket". He took 3 bucks for the ticket and i was on my way up. Anyways.

The fortress happens to be one of the oldest in the state of AP and is located atop a 500 feet high monolithic rock.

The sun over my head, at its very best and i had countless stairs along with some rock climbing to do (without any gear). Finally after about an hour i reached the top. All drenched in sweat and my water bottle gone empty, i was seriously exhausted. But felt nice to finally reach there beating the heat. It was fun :).

Along with this the bike ride on the semi-constructed NH 202, was refreshing with a top speed of 105 kph and an average of around 90....this small trip to Bhongir would be remembered.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.