Cottonopolis

By milltownlass

Go

Dad and I have been at my late Uncle's house again today. Almost everything has been removed, and the house has gone on the market today.

Inheriting the house has been a huge worry for my Dad, so even though it was his childhood home, he just wants to be free of this extra weight on his mind. It is a fantastic house in some ways - deceptively large, full of period features but lacking in some very basic amenities. It has a huge bathroom ... but no inside toilet! I don't know how my uncle managed with no inside loo or central heating in his old age.

This game 'Go' has been sat on the table waiting for a decision on what to do with it - keep, charity shop or rubbish. I couldn't bear to throw it out, as I remember playing this as a kid (not as often as I would have liked!), when we visited my Gran's house. It was as close as I got to foreign travel until I was 19, unless I count our holiday to the Isle of Man, when I was 10 or 11!

Go by Waddington's games manufactured in 1961.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.