Boar, yes. Boring, not in the slightest.

This is Porcellino - a lucky bronze fixture at the University of Waterloo in Waterloo, Ontario, Canada. The plaque says to rub its shiny nose for luck, so I did. I think Francesc did, too. He is a colleague in the Science and Technology Studies Graduate Program at York University in Toronto. I'm an MA student, he's a PhD student from Barcelona, Spain. Another student from YorkU attended. Graham is a mature student in the STS undergraduate program. We all had lunch together at the campus pub: The Bomb Shelter.

I drove us out to the Science and Technology in Society Day mini-conference held at the Great Hall of Conrad Grebel University College at UW. The campus is quite lovely. Smaller than my YorkU but of the same vintage (YorkU 1959, UW 1957) with a lot of similar building styles but less brutalist in style and separated by paths and large green berms and a stream bisecting the campus. Just a few blocks away is the Perimeter Institute for Theoretical Physics where Dr. Stephen Hawking now spends some time as PI's first Distinguished Research Chair.

The conference was very good. I learned a lot and met some very interesting faculty, staff, and students. I look forward to the next one.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.