Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

Cuckoo Bee

Doing the best I can on internet search, this is the Domino Cuckoo Bee (Thyreus lugubris). Perhaps not the sharpest of images but the one I liked best. It preys on the nests of Teddy Bear Bees and I certainly have Teddy Bear Bees around. It really is quite a striking bee with the black base and white bits of fur like spots if that is the correct term for the fluff on bees. Again like the Teddy Bear bee, it appears to be a native bee but this is only the second time I have ever seen it.

It was full on activity in the garden today with all sorts of insects buzzing, flitting and crawling around - full on until I got the camera out and then suddenly they would all disappear.

A cloudless day today. No comments on what tomorrow might bring.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.