Not so Daily Fish

By Peawet

Cheval Gris

A few years back I started working for a company that supplied electronic tagging systems to monitor criminals who were released on home detention curfews.

With quite a small customer base we started to do demonstrations of the system to the Departments for Justice in various countries like Italy, France and Spain. For these demonstrations we bought a high spec laptop so that we could run a complete monitoring system on one machine.

This was the laptop that we bought and we it was nicknamed "Cheval Gris" (The Grey Horse).

Specs:
PIII 750Mhz CPU
A whole 256MB or RAM (later increased to 512MB)
PCMCIA Network card (Later given internal wireless LAN)
15" screen
3 batteries (Disk drive was replaceable with a battery to make it last longer)

After working for OnGuard+ for 7.5 years, the Owner, a great man called "Stanley Niederberger", had since passed away to cancer and companies fortunes were hanging in the balance, I decided to look for another job and went on my merry way. When I left I took with me the "Grey Horse" and have been using it on and off now for many years.

It is the only machine I have that contains a serial port but the time has come now to say goodbye to it. The case is cracked in multiple places and the CD drive has no front on it.

Farewell my friend, you have served me well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.