Dick's Pics

By RichardDonkin

Not so cheeky Robin

I spent most of the morning digging out some stubborn old roots at the bottom of the garden. A robin was singing in a tree above me. I knew what she or he'd be after so popped inside and put t'big lens on the camera with the monopod to keep it steady.

Sure enough it was soon perched on the fence then down in the dirt poking around for anything the spade had turned over. This one isn't so tame as I've known them, probably a good thing with the dog following me around like a shadow.

Yes, there are mucky millions of robins on Blipfoto. But I haven't blipped one yet. I'm pleased with the detail in the large version. I'll graduate to more demanding species as the opportunity arises (and that shouldn't be far off with a fishing trip in the offing. Note to self: it's a fishing trip, not a blipping trip, but surely both are possible).

Pippa has a thing about gardening tools and I've had to discourage her from attacking the spade and the fork so now she sort of stands guard over them when they're stuck in the ground. Thank you for all the nice comments yesterday on her birthday blip, much appreciated.

It's like summer today - hot, hot, hot . Why does this make me so ill at ease? Well it's bad for fishing for a start. I like each season to be in its place, not trying to be one jump ahead. Leave that to the newspapers. Still, I've put the deck chair up and instead of venturing far and wide this afternoon in search of a blip, I think I'll be putting my feet up. Chin chin!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.