October 4th Journal

By IONAX

I am happy today...

...because I vent to look at my maternal grandfather's house which is Laugavegur 46 in Reykjavik, Iceland, - this house. For to many years I have had to look upon it as it was slowly becoming a rusty, neglected house and would eventually be torn down and something hideous built there instead. It had some strange looking fence around it the last time I looked and now it has come alive again.
My grandfather (1873-1949) lived on the second floor with the two balconies, though I don't remember them and had his studio in the attic, hence the big window facing north. On the ground floor was his shop where people booked time to have their picture taken and collected them when they were ready.

He was one of the first photographers in Iceland and one of the founders of The Icelandic Photographers Association (1926) and 40 years later I was one of the founders of The Icelandic Film Makers Association - how history repeats itself.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.